An Outlet, a Resource, and a Venue

1

August 13, 2012 by cbbeard

This past January my life changed drastically; I joined a cohort of students and began a pursuit of a PhD in Leadership Studies through the Center for Global Studies at Johnson University.  As I was finishing up the final paper for my latest class, I looked back at some of the stuff I had studied and thought “man there is some REALLY good stuff here!”

Right after that, I clicked a link on Twitter from a church consultant I follow and it took me to his blog where he had posted some thoughts about the role of the church in this world.  That’s when I decided that maybe, just maybe, I could be a blogger too.

I know, it’s kind of silly that I didn’t think of all of this myself; I mean, it’s not like blogging or Twitter is a brand new phenomena.  But I must remind you, I’m working on a PhD, so my brain is a little mushy.

So ladies and gentlemen, I present to you “Brain Drip!”  This blog will serve a variety of purposes; it will serve as:

  • An Outlet – Sometimes the things I study cause a chain reaction in my brain, one thought leads to the next.  I’m not saying all of these thoughts are worthy of discussion or publication, but I need some way to let them out of my brain before my head explodes.
  • A Resource – Some of the things I am learning about God, the church, leadership, and discipleship are really helpful and useful.  I don’t want to keep those things to myself, so maybe somebody who reads this blog will benefit as I have.
  • A Venue – I serve a wonderful body of believers known as Christ Covenant Church.  I am studying for a PhD so that I can be a better leader for God and for them.  This blog will help my church see some of the things I’m learning as I progress through the program.

So there you have it!  It’s a blog.  Some posts will be long, some will be short.  Some will be more academic in format and some will just be me rambling on.  But if you are reading this, come back once in a while and see what has leaked out of my brain.
In His Grip,
Chris

One thought on “An Outlet, a Resource, and a Venue

  1. PeggyCorder says:

    looking forward to what leaks out!

Leave a Reply

