Breaking My Silence – Why I Will Not Support Trump

4

October 7, 2016 by cbbeard

Tonight I’m doing what I swore I wouldn’t do…I am publicly disclosing that I will NOT be supporting a candidate for president.  Specifically, I am making it known that I will not be supporting Donald Trump for president.

54286061_m

I swore I wouldn’t do it for a few reasons.  First of all, I don’t want to create any barriers between myself and anyone I know that might not agree with me politically.  I believe that my friendships and relationships are more important than political affiliation, and because I have friends and loved ones on both side of the “aisle” so to speak, I don’t want to add any tension to an already intense political season.  Second, since I am both a Lead Minister and a professor, I don’t want to give the impression that my views are reflective of the organizations I serve.  Remaining silent on political affiliation removes any chance of people confusing my views with the views of the church or university at large.  Finally, I just don’t think it matters a whole lot.  My allegiance is to God’s Kingdom first and foremost, and I don’t believe that God needs the right candidate in the Oval Office to accomplish his purposes.

I still believe those things to be true.  I don’t intend on this post to be prescriptive nor divisive.  Who you vote for is between you and God, and I promise that your vote in November won’t affect how I feel about you…I hope the same is true for you as well.  And frankly, I don’t know who I will vote for or if I will vote at all.  This is an endorsement, but not of the kind you are used to.  An endorsement I have to make.

Tonight, news has surfaced that compels me to publicly declare I cannot and will not support Donald Trump.  Earlier today, a recording surfaced from 2005 in which Trump was preparing to make an appearance on a soap opera, and he was having a conversation with an Access Hollywood host “off the record,” which was recorded by an open microphone.  That conversation revealed a newly-remarried Trump saying highly misogynistic things about women, detailing his failed attempts to sleep with married women, including his perception of the advantage of fame in which women would automatically allow him to kiss them and “grab them by the (genitalia).”  For his “apology,” Trump deflected to claims of Bill Clinton saying “far worse on the golf course,” calling it “locker room banter” and saying “I apologize if anyone was offended.”

But that will not do.  I’ve kept quiet so far (perhaps wrongly) because while many of his words have been misplaced and offensive, none were so revealing to the character of Trump.  I don’t believe this is just “locker room banter,” nor is it Trump just speaking in a “boys will be boys” manner.  Jesus said in Matthew 15:18 –  But the things that come out of a person’s mouth come from the heart, and these defile them.  I am convinced that these words and others reveal the character of this presidential candidate. And while I do not view Trump as a lost cause (I truly hope God draws him to genuine repentance) these words changed everything for me.

You see, these words have forced me to choose sides.  And I choose to stand with and for the amazing women in my life.  I choose to stand for their honor, respect, and value.  I choose to stand for them because I cannot stand for a man who would speak to and/or about my wife or daughters in this disgusting and deplorable way.  And I choose to stand with them publicly, because if I remain silent, I dishonor their lives, passion, spirit and value.  So to my wife Kerri, I stand with you.  To my daughters Laney and Riley, I stand with you.  To my mother, and sister, and sisters-in-law, I stand with you.  To the amazing women I partner with in my church, I stand with you.  To the incredible women I work with in the university, I stand with you.  To my female friends who mean so much to me, I stand with you.  To all women, I say…I stand with you, and I endorse you.  Because I will NOT stand with or for a man who views you as much less than you really are and talks about you in this manner.

4 thoughts on “Breaking My Silence – Why I Will Not Support Trump

  1. Char Pope says:

    Thank you.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I support Trump because I would not like the Supreme Court to be liberal and make decisions that will affect this country for the next 50 years. We are being punished by God for killing many of our babies and that is murder. A president is for 4 or 8 years, but for our country to suffer for half a century for not obeying God us too much. If the laws of God and Men conflict, we should follow the laws of God (Book of Acts).

  3. James Nolen says:

    I Stan against abortion therefore I must vote against Hillary.

Leave a Reply

